Delaware 5 Day Notice to Pay or Quit

The Delaware five (5) day notice to pay or quit is to be served to a tenant who has failed to pay their rent after the 5-day grace period (and 8 days if the landlord’s office is located outside the county of the property). If the tenant does not pay the late rent or vacate the property the landlord will be forced to file a “Summary Process” which is an eviction with the Justice of Peace in the area where the property is located.

Sending – It is recommended that the landlord send the notice by certified mail (with return receipt), hand deliver, or any other way that captures the tenant’s signature upon acceptance.

Grace Period Laws – § 5501

Non-Payment Laws –  § 5502