Virginia 21/30 Day Notice to Quit | NonCompliance

The Virginia 21/30 day notice to quit, in accordance with Statute 55-248.31, is a document that is given by the landlord to the tenant for a violation in the lease agreement (for any reason other than late rent). The tenant shall have the first twenty one (21) days to correct the problem, and if not repaired, the tenant will have to vacate the premises at the end of the thirty (30) day period.

How to Write

Step 1 – Download the notice (.PDFWord) and then print it out.

Step 2 – Enter the name(s) of the tenant(s) in the top input field.

Step 3 – Fill in the address of the rental unit (city, county, state, ZIP, street, apartment number). Enter the start date of the lease agreement, and then enter “Virginia” in the “State of” field.

Step 4 – Write what the lease violation was (if necessary attach a separate page of paper to the notice).

Note: Do not be vague, clearly state the violation(s) and any other pertinent details.

Step 5 – Enter the date that the 30 day period will expire on (day, month, year).

Step 6 – Sign your name in the “Signature” field.

Step 7 – The “Certificate of Service” section is used to validate that the notice was served on the tenant. Fill in the date of service, who the notice was served on, and then select the service method.