Vermont 14 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate | NonPayment of Rent

The Vermont fourteen (14) day notice to pay or quit, laws located in Section 4467(a), is the notice that is to be used when a tenant has failed to pay rent. The tenant must receive this notice (and be given the full 14 day period to pay the past due rent) before the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit in Superior Court. If the tenant fails to take action on the notice (does not pay the rent or does not move out) within the 14 day period, the landlord has the right to bring an eviction action against them.

Download/Print Links:

How to Write

Step 1 – Download the notice and print it out. At the top of the form in the “To” field, put the name(s) of the tenant(s). Write the landlord’s name in the “From” input field.

Step 2 – Enter the full address of the rental unit, and then enter the start date of the lease agreement.

Step 3 – Fill in the rent that is due (including the corresponding rental period), other fees/charges, and then enter the total amount that is due.

Step 4 – Select which payment options the tenant will be able to use.

Step 5 – Fill in the date/time that the 14 day notice period will expire on.

Step 6 – Provide a contact phone number, and the sign/date the form.

Step 7 – The “Proof of Delivery” section (on page two) must be completed after the tenant has been served the notice. Select the service/delivery method, and then have the person who served the notice sign/print their name. Enter the date/time of service to complete the “Proof of Delivery” section.

Note: You should make at least three (3) copies of the completed notice.