Vermont 60/90 Day Notice to Quit | Month-to-Month Tenancy

The Vermont 60/90 day lease termination notice, in accordance with § 4467(c)(1), is a letter that is given either by the landlord or tenant to the other party. The conditions of State law require that if the tenant has been on the property for less than two (2) years that at least sixty (60) days’ notice be given, if the tenant has resided for at least two (2) years then they shall have ninety (90) days’ granted. The notice must be transferred to the other party via personal service or certified mail.

How to Write

Step 1 – Download the form (.PDFWord) and then print it out. At the top of the notice, enter the date (dd/mm/yyyy), and then write the street address of the rental unit.

Step 2 – Select whether the notice is for 60 or 90 days.

Note: If the tenant has rented the property for less than two years, select 60 days. If the tenant has rented the property for more than two years, select 90 days.

Step 3 – Write the name of the tenant(s) in the “To:” field.

Step 4 – Fill in the start date of the lease agreement.

Note: This form can also be used by a tenant to inform their landlord of their intention to move out/terminate the rental agreement. If you are the tenant, put a return address for the security deposit.

Step 5 – The “Proof of Service” section must be filled out after the notice has been served on the tenant. Complete the section by selecting the service method, entering the date of service, signing your name in the “Signature” field, and then printing your name and entering the date into the “Name/Date” input line.