1. Home »
  2. Maryland »
  3. Maryland 30-/60-Day Notice to Quit | Month to Month Tenancy

Maryland 30-/60-Day Notice to Quit | Month to Month Tenancy

The Maryland 30-/60-day notice to quit is an eviction letter designated for the termination of month-to-month rental agreements. The landlord shall deliver the written notice to the tenant sixty (60) days before the intended expiration of their tenancy. If the notice is to be sent by mail, it should be deposited at least three (3) days before the beginning of the month to ensure it arrives on time. The tenant will have until the final date of the month to vacate the property. If they continue to inhabit the dwelling past the end of the notice period, the landlord can start the eviction process by filing a Tenant Holding Over action with the district court.

A tenant may also use this notice to terminate their tenancy. The notice period given to the landlord should be outlined in the termination provisions of the lease. If there is no written lease, the tenant must provide the landlord with a 30-day notice.

Note: Different rules may apply in Baltimore City and Montgomery County.

Laws – MD. Code, Real. Prop. § 8-402